Vitamin C and hands on hips moment.

Leave a comment

February 22, 2012 by Folly Bloom

Citrus fruit slices

Right this Mummy has had enough of poorly Winter cold bugs and is quietly stomping her foot and having a hand on hips moment.

We seem to have had weeks of colds going in circles round our family and I have nursed them all.  Not with much patience I admit because its ‘just a cold’.  Well that was until I got struck down with it.  I seemed to get the unique type of cold/flu due to me being bed ridden and feeling like a tractor had rolled over me.

I don’t ‘do’ poorly as life is too busy in this house and unless you have a limb hanging off a paracetamol will sort you out.

Well now I feel for myself and our poorly cherubs. x

I have used this to our advantage and refreshed my old school brain with having a good think about our Vitamin C intake as a family.  The action’s are simple yet I feel we could all do with lots more of the stuff.

Vitamin C  is also known as ascorbic acid. It has several important functions.

 It helps protect cells and keeps them healthy.

Necessary for the maintenance of healthy connective tissue.

 We do not produce or store Vitamin C, we need to supply  Vitamin C through our diet.

A lack of vitamin C can lead to scurvy! ewwww

Here goes then…… a refresher of the

TOP TEN VITAMIN C BEAUTIES

Red and Green Hot Chili Peppers

 Guavas

Bell Peppers

Fresh Herbs (Thyme and Parsley)

Dark Leafy Greens (Kale, Mustard Greens, Garden Cress)

Broccoli, Cauliflower, Brussels Sprouts

Kiwi Fruits

Papayas

Oranges and Clementines

Strawberries

Well it all sounds quite scrummy and I would say that most families who care about their loved ones probably eat a big chunk of lovely fresh products like this. We already do and the lovely fruit is price dependent and seasonal but when they are reduced we should grab them and eat them like sweeties!!

Getting the chili peppers in the kids diet might prove tricky though.

So hope you all finish with any Winter bugs and stomp into Spring soon! x

Zest

The hubby2b CD design lent itself lovely to my citrus fruit blog!

Folly Bloom loves your lovely comments, thanks for popping by. x

Orange Owl Cosy £12.00 Felt and bead phone case

Orange Owl Cosy £12.00 Felt and bead phone case

Orange Owl Cosy £12.00 Felt and bead phone case

Hello.

Folly Bloom by Emma.

Folly Bloom by Emma. I am a creative woman with my man, our 4 cherubs and our busy home, so I find this my biggest inspiration to share with you. x

Join Folly Craft Swaps.

Folly Bloom Swaps

Click to join Folly Craft Swaps

Folly Archives

